Chili in an Acorn Squash Bowl

This chili is super simple and quick to make without any sacrifice in flavor.  Though the acorn squash isn’t a must, it really adds to the depth of the dish.  I usually eat mine as an acorn squash bowl, but Jared prefers to peel off the skin, chop it up, and mix everything together.

1 pound ground beef or buffalo

1 – 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes

1 acorn squash for every two people you are serving

4 tbs. chili powder

1 tsp dried oregano

1/8 tsp cayenne

1 bay leaf

1/4 tsp cinnamon

I preheat the oven to 400 degrees while I cut the acorn squash in half and carve out the seeds.  Then place them cut-side down on a baking dish and bake them for 40 minutes or until the skins are blackened and the squash is tender.

Meanwhile I brown the ground beef.  Then I add the chili powder and let the oils of the beef simmer the chili flavor into the meat.  Next I add the rest of the spices and the dice tomatoes and simmer for 10 minutes or so.

And just like that, you are done!  As mentioned, I serve the chili in the acorn squash, sometime with a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan cheese.  Any left over chili gets frozen for another night.

Adapted from Jenny Rosenstrach’s recipe for Turkey Chili.