Carrot Soup Recipe

This soup is a big bowl of fall.  I ignore this fact and still make it during the rest of the year because my spring garden brings lots of carrots and when it doesn’t they are pretty cheap at the store.  This recipe usually makes enough for us to have two extra portions left over for freezing which is a huge bonus in my book.

4 cups of chicken or vegetable broth

2 pounds of carrots, peeled and chopped

1 – 14 oz. can full fat coconut milk (crucial to get the good stuff)

2 tsp curry powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

handful of toasted nuts

As with all puree soups, I put the broth in a large pot and begin heating it to a boil while I peel and chop the carrots.  Once the carrots are ready I add them along with the spices and let everything simmer until the carrots are tender (about 20 minutes).

Next I puree the carrots in my food processor and return them to the cooking pot (sometimes it is nice to leave some of the carrots non-pureed so there are chunks in the soup).

Last I add up to 14 ounces of water until the soup has the desired thickness and serve garnished with some nuts I’ve toasted in my toaster oven, usually pecans.

Taken with a few minor adjustments from this recipe on allrecipes.com

Tagged with: