Butternut Squash Soup Recipe

With only 5 ingredients, this recipe is super simple, totally healthy, and one of my all-time favorites.  Though it may seem like a fall comfort soup, I enjoy it all year long and always make enough to freeze half for dinner another night.

6 cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed

4 cups of chicken broth

1/2 tsp dried marjoram, ground

1/4 tsp black pepper, ground

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, ground

I like to get the chicken broth heating in a large pot while I peel and cube the butternut squash.  Then I place the squash and all the spices in the boiling broth and cook until squash is tender and the liquid has reduced by about half.

Next I puree the squash in my food processor.  It usually all fits, and I don’t have to divide into batches.  This mixture is poured back into the pot and reheated if necessary.

I serve with a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan cheese and black peppercorn.

Adapted from this recipe on Allrecipes.com